Crystals…

…are a girl’s best friend. 

I’ve been collecting crystals now for a little over a year. One of my best friends (sister really) introduced me to the crystal world. I’ve never looked back since. You see, crystals are simply amazing. Crystals have their own vibrations and healing powers. I know that a lot of people think that’s just bonkers. Even I was skeptical at first. But the more I really looked into the topic and began to see stones and crystals for what they truly were…I began to appreciate them. 

So how did this happen, you ask? Well…it goes along with the story of how I became a witch. I was in a constant state of anxiety and I felt as if I had lost all control of my life and myself. I didn’t recognize myself. Heart thumping too fast and too loud. Bags under my eyes. Hair out of control and damaged. Always looking over my shoulder. And no this wasn’t a break up. I deal with break ups way better. But it did seem that I was spiraling down a hole I couldn’t crawl my way back up. I also know how this sounds like such an emo teen song. But it really was a dramatic time and I was caught in the crossfire of it all. It sucked. Plain and simple. 

So I turned to my best friend for help. I stayed with her for 3 months and slowly but surely gained myself back. I grew stronger and possibly more wise (who really knows). I found myself and my worth. One thing I did was collect some crystals.

The first thing you need to know about crystals is that you don’t have to know anything about them. I know that sounds wrong but it’s really the easiest way to familiarize yourself with them. When you head into a crystal shop you want to walk around and gain a feel of what you’re drawn to. Once you find a stone that speaks to you, it’s a good idea to go ahead and look into what kind of stone it is and it’s meaning. Once you’ve gained a few stones in your collection and get the idea of how it all works, then it’s a good idea to look up different stones to help with different feelings and manifestations. 

Let me share with you the first stone I was ever drawn to!

I headed into a new age shop thinking…what the hell, it’s worth a shot. So after scouring the store, I felt like I completely failed at this “which one speaks to you” idea. I decided to go through the whole store once more and see if I missed anything. I was surprised that I did miss something. A lot actually. But one stone in particular. On a shelf, in a basket at the front of the store, was a black stone that looked like a broomstick. At first, I thought it was shards of a different stone. It was extremely appealing to me. So I picked it up and held it. I felt a little jolt and knew that I needed this stone. I had no idea what it was and no idea why I wanted it. 

The stone was kyanite. Also known as “witch’s broomstick”. How fitting. My first stone as a witch is a witch’s broomstick. So what does it mean and how can you best utilize this stone? Black kyanite is a high vibration stone that transfers energy quickly. It opens the mind and it’s a stone that never builds up or maintains negative energy. It helps with communication (especially in disagreements and disputes) and helps empower oneself. What I like best about black kyanite is that it’s known to sweep away negativity and bad energy. 

There were so many reasons why I chose this stone. First, I was drawn to it completely. That’s just how it works. But it made so much sense with the environment around me at the time. There was a lot of conflict surrounding my living situation and I needed something to make me feel protected. Black kyanite is known to protect and give you the know how to retreat when needed. It offers a safety of being hidden from any enemies. It was perfect for me. I was living with a terrible roommate who terrorized me to no end. They and their significant other verbally abused and harassed me on multiple occasions and I felt trapped. They were awful people but I knew I shouldn’t have let it get to me so much. At the time I was working and going to school full time and had no time or the financial capability of looking somewhere else to live. Everything just sucked at the time and I was drawn to that stone because it was helping me communicate effectively with them when needed while simultaneously trying to stay away from them and their negative energy.

It sounds crazy and so weird that I’d put my faith in this one stone. But actually, it felt nice to put my faith in this stone. This tangible item that I could hold and see and place my feelings, worries, concerns, and energy into. I felt, for the first time, a weight lifting off my shoulders a little. It was nice to finally breathe. It was exhilarating to make a step towards gaining some power back at a time when I felt I was powerless. 

And that’s just what happened! I didn’t fear them as much. I gained my voice and confidence back to stand up for myself. Of course it took some time to fully recover, but slowly and surely I became me again. To be clear – it wasn’t just through this stone that made me stronger. It was simply an aid in the process. It was a floaty thrown to me as I was drowning. But someone had to pull me aboard. That was my best friends and time spent doing things that made me happy. I had to really cleanse my space and myself to get to a peaceful state. 

So dear readers, my message to you is this – if you think it’s a joke that’s alright. If you’re interested in the world of crystals and stones but you’re afraid to try it out, just take some time to peruse a new age shop and see if any strike your fancy. It doesn’t hurt you to look and see for yourself. A. Hint – citrine is also a really nice first stone if you’re just interested. It’s a feel good stone and I carry one with me wherever I go. It’s definitely a great beginners stone. 

Good luck crystal hunting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

